4 Scottish newspapers have articles today that we have issues with playing in front of large crowds

Bad Robot

1 minute ago, DiamondDan said:

No its not. I could post hundreds of studies from sports psychology evidencing that the presence of a crowd influences sporting performance, either for better or worse.

If Rangers have performed better without a crowd; than with one. Then it is  perfectly legitimate to question the extent to which the presence of a crowd has been a factor in performance.

Have any of these studies looked at Scottish football? How does winning in front of 25000 work when the players were seemingly scared of 5000 a week later?

1 hour ago, Bad Robot said:

We all know this which makes it even worse where you’ve covered the domestic and perhaps you should have called out the other three writers/ newspapers along with identifying Collins and the mail.

We also have this from one of our posters: 

SIRB_72  2,121

Posted 4 hours ago

For those concerned about fans aka us (fucking hell) being a detriment to the players tomorrow our record at home in Europe with fans stands at 11 wins, 4 draws and 1 loss which was to Bayer Leverkusen.

We've scored 30 in 15, conceded 10, claimed 9 clean sheets and only failed to score twice which was against Villarreal and Spartak Moscow.

Superb post if you ask me:lol:

24 minutes ago, DiamondDan said:

Are you suggesting that Scottish footballers are a unique species unlike any other athletes?

No. Im suggesting that even between different sports in the same country, the effect of fans on sporting performance can vary wildly.

So a study on the impact of fans on sporting performance in, say, the NFL doesn't neccessarily translate to the Scottish Premiership.

34 minutes ago, DiamondDan said:

No its not. I could post hundreds of studies from sports psychology evidencing that the presence of a crowd influences sporting performance, either for better or worse.

If Rangers have performed better without a crowd; than with one. Then it is  perfectly legitimate to question the extent to which the presence of a crowd has been a factor in performance.

Or maybe it's a coincidence that when we had no crowds was also the season we happened to have the best squad we've had since, I'd argue, the season we reached the UEFA Cup final?

3 hours ago, The Dude said:

Whats the point in 'calling out' the other three papers? After losing two games on the spin we were ALWAYS going to get criticism today.

Would make your article more credence by identifying the other detractors plus you could have thrown in the euro stats and again thats more evidence to prove the 4 were full of shit 

3 hours ago, The Dude said:

Have any of these studies looked at Scottish football? How does winning in front of 25000 work when the players were seemingly scared of 5000 a week later?

There is a difference between 25 000 being for you and 5 000 being against you . 

Dundee Utd without doubt where influenced by their crowd on Saturday 

also the 25000 at Ibrox on opening day just after 55 has been secured and all is rosy in the garden will be a different place altogether when it’s 50 000 and the moans and groans sweep through the place again if performances don’t improve. 

it’s up to the players now to show it’s not as big an issue as it’s being made. 

4 minutes ago, cr3_bear said:

There is a difference between 25 000 being for you and 5 000 being against you . 

Dundee Utd without doubt where influenced by their crowd on Saturday 

also the 25000 at Ibrox on opening day just after 55 has been secured and all is rosy in the garden will be a different place altogether when it’s 50 000 and the moans and groans sweep through the place again if performances don’t improve. 

it’s up to the players now to show it’s not as big an issue as it’s being made. 

Do you think for a second the crowd wouldn't have moaned and groaned had we went behind v Livi? 25000 expecting a win or 5000 hoping not to get scudded

1 minute ago, The Dude said:

Do you think for a second the crowd wouldn't have moaned and groaned had we went behind v Livi? 25000 expecting a win or 5000 hoping not to get scudded

I don’t think I said they wouldn’t . But then first game of a new season just after a successful one would people may have gave the team the benefit of the doubt at that point  . But we all know what Ibrox can be like after a run of bad performances and poor results which is the point I’m making . 

Dundee Utd fans might have feared a scudding before that game but as the game kicked off and progressed they knew they were in with a chance of a point or three. The crowd reacts to that and the players feed off it . 

5 hours ago, Bad Robot said:

So you think it’s ok for our national newspapers to be writing this on the eve of this massive game?

No you're spot on mate. It's no right at all but we don't make things easier ourselves sometimes and a lot of us but into tarrier propaganda. After Dundee utd game it was everywhere on here along with shite from some even suggesting we won last year's title mainly down to covid and all sorts. 

3 hours ago, DiamondDan said:

Maybe it is, maybe its not, maybe it's a combination of factors. No understanding will be reached though If some potential contributary factors are prohibited.

I'd say Roofe being better than Kamberi and Lafferty then Helander & Balogun being better than Katic and Edmundson then finally Hagi being better than any combination of Jones, Stewart or Barker are stronger factors than the crowd thing!

7 minutes ago, SIRB_72 said:

I'd say Roofe being better than Kamberi and Lafferty then Helander & Balogun being better than Katic and Edmundson then finally Hagi being better than any combination of Jones, Stewart or Barker are stronger factors than the crowd thing!

Players being more familiar with teammates, roles within the side and even more comfortable and settled off-the-field too.

4 hours ago, G13 said:

We've won 54 titles with fans and 1 without fans. keith jackson is a fucking moron. These cunts will know all about fans at eight o'clock tomorrow night, this is going to be one of the best atmospheres ever witnessed in football anywhere.

we will see after 20 mins, the club have fucked out atmosphere with there everyone, anyone pish as far back as the wee blue back when we let uefa bend us over backwards, could take a leaf out malmos book, full 90 mins they gave it....

2 minutes ago, DiamondDan said:

Getting bent over backwards by UEFA is like getting bent over backwards by the polis, there's nothing you can do about it, other than follow their rules to prevent a reoccurrence. Hardly the club's fault.

was the start of the death of old skool Ibrox, the UBs do a tremendous job if this modern day ultra thing, bring back safe standing IMO in the copland

15 hours ago, Smile said:

Sad bastards, this is why football journalism in this country is dead it's trolling rather than facts. 

100% correct. Thats it pretty much for football journalism now. Those articles were penned before the season even started ready to go as soon as we hit a sticky patch. Whether there is even a shred of truth in them and matters not. Its to get a reaction. Same as gordon parks " Rangers not that good article" , he  was dying to write it since january but couldnt.  The last 2 results gave him his chance. Its agenda driven urine and unfortunately that in scotland that is what football journalism has now become.

47 minutes ago, DiamondDan said:

It's really nothing new. The media have always over egged the pudding and made both Rangers and Celtic out to be world beaters when they're doing well and prophesied armageddon when they are on a poor run.

The truth is somewhere in the middle. Neither side have ever lived up to the hype when they've been successful and neither side has been as bad as predicted when on a poor run.

Its not just confined to Rangers. Celtic have been written off as absolute no hopers this season, years away from challenging Rangers. Too many Rangers fans have swallowed it hook, line and sinker. When in reality, aye they've got an inexperienced and dodgy back 5, but they've signed a keeper who was excellent at one time and they've got Julien coming back.

Middle to front they aren't that bad. But because the media have written them off too many of us (and half the team by the looks of it) have just accepted that this season is a foregone conclusion. 

Rangers and Celtic have always been 3 losses away from a crisis.

My post was more about the timing of the negative headlines for this massive match which comes across as wanting us to fail whereas sport’s writers should be writing Scottish football up to encouragement the sport but then put the boot in should a team fail.