Club Statement - Trophy Day Celebrations

WINNING our 55th league title in our 150th year was a historic day for Rangers Football Club. The support from millions of our fans across the world has been incredible.

The achievement by Steven Gerrard and his team has received plaudits from across the football family, including recognition by sports writers, opposition players and managers. 

We are grateful to Scottish Government officials, Glasgow City Council and Police Scotland for the constructive engagement in the lead up to the weekend’s game. We worked closely with the authorities for two weeks before Saturday’s match to ensure a consistency of message.

Sadly, a small minority of people behaved inappropriately and in a manner not reflective of our support. Some of the scenes were unacceptable and have besmirched the good name of Rangers Football Club. These so called “fans” should reflect upon the values and ethos of our club, and consider the damage this does to the reputation of the club. 

We will continue to engage with authorities as required.

6 minutes ago, ElBufalo20 said:

No club were right. You’ve got a point but it can’t all be what about them etc.

The people scrapping and launching things at the police were an absolute embarrassment end of.

Absolutely agree about a handful of idiots ruining it for everyone but the question should be asked why that wasn’t condemned in the same way yesterday. It’s blatant double standards. 

25 minutes ago, ritchieshearercaldow said:

That would have been beneath the club, no whataboutery just a dignified response.

Dignified silence and dignified responses are why we’re in the situation we are in , demonised by every corner of society, we could have had a Palestine RSC at that demo yesterday and the cunts would accuse us of anti semitism 

2 minutes ago, The Hammer 11 said:

Dignified silence and dignified responses are why we’re in the situation we are in , demonised by every corner of society, we could have had a Palestine RSC at that demo yesterday and the cunts would accuse us of anti semitism 

What do you think the club should have said? 

10 minutes ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

What do you think the club should have said? 

WINNING our 55th league title in our 150th year was a historic day for Rangers Football Club. The support from millions of our fans across the world has been incredible.

The achievement by Steven Gerrard and his team has received plaudits from across the football family, including recognition by sports writers, opposition players and managers. 

We are grateful to Scottish Government officials, Glasgow City Council and Police Scotland for the constructive engagement in the lead up to the weekend’s game. We worked closely with the authorities for two weeks before Saturday’s match to ensure a consistency of message. However we find the response from the justice secretary wholeheartedly unprofessional in his condemnation of all rangers fans with the attempt to blame an extended lockdown solely at the door of our fans. Let us be reminded that Glasgow was put into continued level 3 measures before the events of Saturday took place and no condemnation has been forthcoming in relation to other mass gatherings this week. We will continue to work with the Scottish government going forward however the demonisation of the Rangers support cannot continue to be politicised in this manner. We urge the justice secretary to re think his comments on any future events and refrain from veiled threats of consequences.

Sadly, a small minority of people behaved inappropriately and in a manner not reflective of our support. Some of the scenes were unacceptable and have besmirched the good name of Rangers Football Club. These so called “fans” should reflect upon the values and ethos of our club, and consider the damage this does to the reputation of the club.  We wholeheartedly condemn violence towards our local police and we will aid them in their enquiries to ensure their is no obstruction .

23 minutes ago, SkylineBlue said:

The principle of gathering and the behaviour of some people when they gather are separate issues. If a bunch of wee neds hadn't acted like the wee neds that they are then this shite wouldn't be at the clubs door. The club has to distance themselves from it now.

They are completely different issues but we were attacked by sturgeon and humza primarily for gathering in the first place and were called selfish and irresponsible because of that. The behaviour of the moronic minority was the after thought from them, it has to be asked why those attending yesterday were not challenged for attending the way we were 24 hours earlier. 

50 minutes ago, Billy1984 said:

Absolutely agree about a handful of idiots ruining it for everyone but the question should be asked why that wasn’t condemned in the same way yesterday. It’s blatant double standards. 

You may not want to admit it but they are not comparable situations, and can't possibly be condemned in the same way.

Had the gathering gone off peacefully, we wouldn't have this situation, but alas the small minority brought the condemnation on us.

Didn't see anything on the news last night about pro palestine protestors launching bottles/barriers at the police.

2 minutes ago, Billy1984 said:

They are completely different issues but we were attacked by sturgeon and humza primarily for gathering in the first place and were called selfish and irresponsible because of that. The behaviour of the moronic minority was the after thought from them, it has to be asked why those attending yesterday were not challenged for attending the way we were 24 hours earlier. 

And we, perhaps, could have done that in a way that didn't seem overly defensive and full of whataboutery had those wee fannies not caused the trouble that they did. They have put the club in a terrible position. They're fucking arseholes.

10 minutes ago, The Hammer 11 said:

We are grateful to Scottish Government officials, Glasgow City Council and Police Scotland for the constructive engagement in the lead up to the weekend’s game. We worked closely with the authorities for two weeks before Saturday’s match to ensure a consistency of message. However we find the response from the justice secretary wholeheartedly unprofessional in his condemnation of all Rangers fans with the attempt to blame an extended lockdown solely at the door of our fans. Let us be reminded that Glasgow was put into continued level 3 measures before the events of Saturday took place and no condemnation has been forthcoming in relation to other mass gatherings this week. We will continue to work with the Scottish government going forward however the demonisation of the Rangers support cannot continue to be politicised in this manner. We urge the justice secretary to re think his comments on any future events and refrain from veiled threats of consequences.

Sadly, a small minority of people behaved inappropriately and in a manner not reflective of our support. Some of the scenes were unacceptable and have besmirched the good name of Rangers Football Club. These so called “fans” should reflect upon the values and ethos of our club, and consider the damage this does to the reputation of the club.  We wholeheartedly condemn violence towards our local police and we will aid them in their enquiries to ensure their is no obstruction .

Thankfully, our club don't deal in whataboutery. More than half that statement looks like a deflection.

35 minutes ago, SkylineBlue said:

The principle of gathering and the behaviour of some people when they gather are separate issues. If a bunch of wee neds hadn't acted like the wee neds that they are then this shite wouldn't be at the clubs door. The club has to distance themselves from it now.

Definitely there are more fotos stories about this than the team / cup or the Dubai light up show.

15000 ppl having a good day and about 30 odd wee needs ffn spoil it,

I hope there proud of themselves asses

1 minute ago, toolongawake said:

You may not want to admit it but they are not comparable situations, and can't possibly be condemned in the same way.

Had the gathering gone off peacefully, we wouldn't have this situation, but alas the small minority brought the condemnation on us.

Didn't see anything on the news last night about pro palestine protestors launching bottles/barriers at the police.

1 minute ago, SkylineBlue said:

And we, perhaps, could have done that in a way that didn't seem overly defensive and full of whataboutery had those wee fannies not caused the trouble that they did. They have put the club in a terrible position. They're fucking arseholes.

Aye I suppose, it’s a fuckin kick in the balls that a few wankers who in all probability were hanger on types and not even regular supporters of the club have caused this and put us in this position.